Positivity ! 

Unit 25 – Working with and Leading People

Last week we had a session on positivity and attitude with the challenge that for the next week at work we would stay positive even when things might be harder or more challenging than we hoped for.

Saturday 13th February

A typical day for me; crystal clear facial, full body massage , crystal clear facial, lunch, lunch cover for reception, back massage, pool test, back massage, clear up. Nothing out of the ordinary apart, from a client that is known for being a bit of a handful sometimes.

So I stayed positive and prepared myself for little comments and suggestions on how to carry out the treatment the way she/he would do it (Even though she/ he has had no training within the beauty industry).


I welcome the client to the salon and take her/ him through to the treatment room, I ask how she/ he is, chat about the weather the usual things. She/ he seems happy, chatty and ready for a “well deserved treat” she/he states.

I leave the room for her/him to get changed and then the treatment begins. She/he talks a little and then becomes quiet, unusual for her/him. She/ he has fallen asleep. I carry on with the treatment cleanse, tone, massage, scalp massage and pressure points, mask, arm massage, and moisturiser. And then wash my hands I place my hand on her/ his shoulder and say that I will get her/him a glass of water if they would like to take their time and get changed.

Once back with water in hand she/he compliments and thanks me on a wonderful treatment and gives me a small tip. We make our way back to reception and he/she raves to the receptionist how relaxed she/he is and asks for me to do her treatment again next time. I say goodbye to the client and continue with my day feeling more positive and energised knowing that I have made the client’s day by relaxing her/him and giving them a well-deserved treat.


The next day however doesn’t go quite according to plan;

Sunday 14th February 

Valentine’s Day is packed; facials and massages are in my column completely back-to-back and neither me nor Carly have got a lunch. I will be completely shattered after this shift. And then I start to feel the negativity coming in, but I stop myself I think “No I’m not going to let this get to me. Think positive at least the day will go quick”.

I have a galvanic facial booked in first thing followed by a Dermalogica facial straight afterwards. Then a full body massage and a back massage then my dinner. Then two full body massages back to back and then two back massages at the end of the day. I know that with all this massage my hands will definitely ache tonight but I stay positive. It’s Valentine’s Day after all and people have booked in to see me and want a relaxing spa treat.

I go to the treatment room and set up my day, I gather all the products that I need and then fetch my first client who is waiting patiently in reception. She is a regular who I haven’t seen for a while so we chat and catch up on what we both been up to. When we sit down in the treatment room to go to the consultation she tells me that she’s meant to be booked in for a crystal clear facial. I say that this is not a problem and whilst she gets changed, I gather the products I need for a crystal clear facial. The treatment goes wonderfully and we end up chatting about what she’s doing this evening with her husband. I take her to reception she pays and books in for a further three treatments with me.


My next clients are booked in for a Dermalogica facial and a full body massage back to back. I go back to the treatment room, tidy my trolley and reset the couch. I make my way back to reception to find that they have has cancelled these treatments and have now replaced it with two back massages. I hurry back to the treatment room and change the bed around ready for the back massages. I now have a 15 minute wait until the back massage is in as they are both in the spa beforehand.

I do both massages and because it’s Valentine’s Day I also use a body brush and conditioning body wash on the back before the massage begins using warms mitts to remove any excess product. Both clients are very pleased with the massage and then go back into the spa for another half an hour.

The third back massage of the day cancels, so I now have a full body massage and a back massage until the end of my shift, I enjoy a full half an hour for my lunch; and then come back ready to cover reception whilst Carly gets hers. Whilst I am sat on reception a client comes out of the spa and asks for some lavender as he has burnt his foot within the Rasul, I have done first aid training in the past but my certificate is out of date and I call down to the office so that Carly can apply first aid. However it becomes apparent that she isn’t there, so I ask the client to sit and I go in search of her. She has left a note and gone to Tesco to get something for dinner and a phone number to call if I need her. I ring her and say that I need her quickly but she doesn’t answer so I leave a message.


I go back to the client with a glass of water and say that Carly will be back shortly as she is not on site. I then get him the Dermalogica Ultracalming toner but advise him that I cannot administer it and he can do but at his own risk. I then sit on reception and wait for Carly to come back in the meantime my next client has arrived but I cannot leave reception until Carly is back and she has dealt with the first aid.

I advise my client of this and get her a coffee so she doesn’t have to just sit and wait. Once I bring her the coffee Carly is back and is attending to the first aid. I let her know that I will take my client through once she has finished the first aid and in the meantime I will clean the locker rooms and Rasul ready for the next clients.

Once I have replaced the lockers with new robes and cleaned down the Rasul, Carly is finished with the first aid so I bring my next client through for her massage; I explain what has happened and apologise for being ten minutes late, she is understanding and says that she quite enjoyed sitting with a coffee and magazine before her massage. I do the massage and she thanks me, offering me a small tip at the end and going on her way.


Lastly the back massage arrives which is a new client so I go through all the forms and consultation questions that I need which he questions and I explain that they must be carried out due to health and safety and he agrees. He enjoys the treatment and falls asleep half way through. I take him to reception and he pays and books another treatment with me after following my aftercare advice.

Overall a really busy day and quite stressful at times but as I stayed positive and calm the day went smoothly and I also got £3.00 in my pocket in tips 🙂 plus comments from happy and relaxed clients.

J

 

 

 

Leave a comment